Random Article

Give Aways



Review: Soul Avenged (Sons of Wrath #1) by Keri Lake



Author: Keri Lake
Title: Soul Avenged
Series: Sons of Wrath
Book #: 1
Genre(s): Paranormal Romance
Release date: February 3, 2013
Publisher: Self-published
Length: 535 pages
Heat level: light to moderate
Review copy provided by: Author, in exchange for honest review, without any other type of compensation
Reviewer recap: Ayden, an Alexi soldier trained to kill lycans on instinct, has gone rogue, seeking vengeance against the lycan that attacked her by forming a contract with the Sons of Wrath, demon vengeance dealers. On a routine hunt, Ayden stumbles upon Kane, a man in the process of turning into a lycan. One desperate touch from him and Ayden is imprinted with images, memories that seem so real and familiar to her. Needing to discover why she sees these images and what they mean, Ayden takes Kane back to the Sons’ compound with less than a week before Kane fully turns. What she doesn’t expect is the emotion and feelings that Kane evokes from her. Falling in love with the enemy is hard, but choosing between vengeance and saving the love of your life…near impossible. Soul Avenged is a GraveTells Recommended Read!
Writing style & finesse



Character development

Likeable/relatable characters

Plot tension

Flow & pacing

Heat &/or sexual tension

Total Score
8/ 10

User Rating
4 total ratings


Bottom Line

Soul Avenged was extremely well-written with characters (especially those naughty demons, the Sons of Wrath) that will leave you anticipating the second installment. Soul Avenged is a GraveTells Recommended Read!

Posted February 19, 2013 by

Full Review

*** This review is SPOILER-FREE! Read on with confidence! ***

Ayden is practically an emotionless killing machine. As an Alexi soldier, she’s had all of her memories wiped from before her lycan attack and her mind and body has been extensively reconditioned to kill lycans on instinct, making the Alexi the ultimate killing machines. Leaving the Alexi is like leaving a gang – meaning you don’t and live to tell about it – so Ayden is hiding from her fellow soldiers as well as hunting with the Sons of Wrath for the lycan that stole her life.

A doctor and perpetual bachelor, Kane was in the wrong place at the wrong time and was attacked by a lycan and left for dead. Resigned to his fate, Kane is compliant but never stops trying to make Ayden see him as a person, instead of a monster and her enemy. The longer the two spend together, the more they grow to have feelings for one another, all the while Kane changes physically and mentally. Once he reaches the end of his lycan transition and fully shifts, game over.

Ayden has one chance to save Kane, but doing so goes against her Alexi conditioning as well as the anger and vengeance that’s driving her. Ayden faces the biggest decision of her life – can she forget and push her vengeance aside to save the life of the man she loves?

Soul Avenged was a great debut to what seems like a promising series. This book was really graphic and somewhat violent, which was a refreshing change of pace that made me realize how often these elements should really be in a lot of paranormal romance and are actually just touched upon by the author and that made the story much more realistic for me. Also, the fact that Lake decided to tell the story from a multi-character POV, made the book play like a movie in my mind. I also really enjoyed the Sons of Wrath, the demon vengeance dealers, and found myself anticipating when they’d pop back into the story as I read. What was a little confusing for me is the fact that this series seems to be centered on the Sons of Wrath, and although they were prominent in the story line, they weren’t main focus of the book.

If you liked Soul Avenged…

If you enjoyed Soul Avenged and want to read more exciting tales with super, hot demons, check out the Demimonde series by Larissa Ione starting with Pleasure Unbound. Also look at the Immortals After Dark series by Kresley Cole starting with The Warlord Wants Forever. And last but not least, have a gander at the Lords of the Underworld series by Gena Showalter starting with The Darkest Night.

Rating: Soul Avenged



Single mom totally addicted to books and promoting my favorite reads. Catch more of my reviews: gravetells.com/category/all-reviews/reviews-by-molly/


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response